MULTAN: The second ODI between Pakistan and West Indies witnessed an enthralling moment when the national team skipper was found guilty of putting on a wicket-keeping glove while fielding, costing his side five penalty runs in the game.
The interesting incident happened in the 29th over of the game when left-arm spinner Muhammad Nawaz was bowling to West Indian Alzarri Joseph, who guided the ball onto the leg-side while the skipper received the throw wearing a single wicket-keeping glove.
As per the law, “No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards. Further, the law mentions that if a fielder illegally fields the ball, umpires shall award five runs to the batting side.
Babar Azam received the penalty with an apologetic smile and shaking his head, a minor irritant to his otherwise joyful day as he made 77 runs with the bat in the first inning while his side completely dominated the West Indies in the field.
The touring side was bowled out on 155 runs while chasing a 276-runs target resulting in a 120 runs victory by Pakistan in the second ODI. The home side has an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.
According to Law 28 of the MCC’s Laws of Cricket, “No fielder other than the wicket-keeper shall be permitted to wear gloves or external leg guards.” Additionally, the Law states that if a fielder illegally fields the ball, five runs shall be awarded to the batting side.
Babar could be seen shaking his head and smiling ruefully after copping the penalty runs, but the day was otherwise a successful one for him and his side. He made 77, extending a run of fifty-plus scores in international cricket to nine in a row, a record, while Pakistan secured victory by 120 runs, giving them an unassailable 2-0 lead with one game to play.
Babar has never kept in a full international before, but has been spotted practicing his glovework in the past. He is also the cousin of Kamran, Umar and Adnan Akmal, all of whom have kept wicket for Pakistan at some point.